A City, A Dream, and A Day in December

Ain't it pretty?


Today, I head up to the Frozen North: ten days in New York City (any lurkers in the area, get at me). In honor of the occasion, I’m going to share with you a song that I think speaks more to The City I usually encounter than does Jay-Z and Alicia’s new cut, Madonna’s homage, or even Old Blue Eyes’ standard paean (though I think “Sidewalks of New York” might come close 🙂 Anybody know this one?
Also, check this New York Times piece and related comments, freshly published this past Wednesday, on all the affordable hotness The City has to offer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ain't it pretty?


On a related note, I read recently that one should to verbalize one’s dreams as a part of manifesting them into reality. That being said, I shall verbalize that, within five years, I plan to be living seven-to-eight months of each year in São Paulo and three-to-four months of each year in New York (the summer months, of course; what could be better?), with each transition bookended by a few weeks of travel. The question isn’t “why?” (I mean…why not?). The question is “how?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On an unrelated note, I came across this song in my iPod recently. If electronic music is supposed to be danceable and joy-inducing, then why does this one make me so sad? 😦

This entry was posted in New York City, North America, travlin' music, USA, videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.