Two Years Ago, I Saw the World


Everyday this week, when I log into Facebook, I’ve been seeing a little reminder that “on this day, two years ago,” I was hitting up the Notting Hill Carnival or being wowed by the freakish ability of Swedes to dance damn well to hip-hop. And while I don’t believe that living in the past is all that emotionally healthy, sometimes you gotta give big-ups for past blessings you’ve received; my round-the-world trip in 2009 was one of the biggest blessings in life. In life.

After wrapping up a four-year stint as a teacher in Colombia, I booked and took off on a whirlwind tour taking me to six continents for US$3,300 (which could have been done more cheaply through a service like AirTreks, but I was satisfied with the price) – including an LA-Sydney roundtrip for $650 and a NYC-Dublin one-way for $230. I CouchSurfed or stayed with friends, only having to spend money on accommodations two nights out of my entire three months on the road. In the end, a family emergency caused the Australia portion of the trip to be canceled, and I ended up moving to Brazil instead of just hanging out as originally planned, but then, surprises and plan changes are all a part of the game. Still, the ride ended way too soon and I was ready to go again as soon as I’d landed back on US soil.

And I will do it again; there’s no reason not too. And yes, you can do it, too. It is that easy, if you want it to be.

Check out this short video of the friends – old and new – I encountered in ’09, and, if your interest is piqued, check out my blog posts from that era, including reports from the road, starting in August 2009.

Please tweet your comments @FlyBrother, or email me (see About page). And don’t forget to “like” me on Facebook!

This entry was posted in inspirations, RTW2K9 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.