Flight Memory + The Swiss Airshow + Quality Hunters

All around the world, same song...

It’s time for a bit of airline geekery! I keep track of all my flights via the Flight Memory database system. I enter the details of my trip, including times, aircraft type, and seat number, then watch as the system tallies up trivia like my top ten air routes (Bogotá-Barranquilla is still #1), how many times I could have circumnavigated the globe via air (13.87 times), most used airports (ATL, BOG, JAX, GRU, BAQ), etc. It also renders the fly-ass map above that shows all the non-US routes I’ve flown. With this week’s Swiss flight from São Paulo to Zurich, I finally closed the transatlantic gap between Europe and South America! Yeh, yeh…well, it’s exciting to me.

That's my plane!

Anyway, impeccable service aside, Swiss International Air Lines (the descendant of Swissair, which folded in 2002) developed a funky-fresh inflight mapping system called the Airshow, that keeps track of your plane’s progress and throws up fact boxes about key destinations en route. There’s a stat ticker at the bottom of the screen and cool swoop-around graphics of the plane and the earth. I snapped a few shots (and some video) during the flight – in the dark, so as not to look like some star-struck kid – but it’s the very idea of hurtling across the equator on a Swiss jetliner to Zurich that just says fly.



Lastly, the newest Finnair Quality Hunters have been selected and I was not among them. Oh, well. Onward and upward.

Next up: Notes on Zurich

Please tweet your comments @FlyBrother, or email me (see About page). And don’t forget to “like” me on Facebook!

This entry was posted in airlines, Brazil, Europe, flying, IFE, jetrosexuality, São Paulo, South America, Switzerland, Zurich and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.