Travel, Inspired by Prince

Princely crown.

The recent, tragic death of cultural steward and soul master Don Cornelius got me thinking heavily about inspiration, so when I ran across this photograph of the unadulterated musical genius Prince as a young man, I knew I had to pay homage to one of the very first popular proponents of out-of-the-box thinking that I ever encountered.

Not only was his music daring, provocative, and unlike anything else played on urban contemporary radio in the ’80s and ’90s, Prince pushed the boundaries of identity and cultural expectation in a way that I could relate to even before realizing it. I was ten years old when Under the Cherry Moon first came on cable TV. Ridiculous script and laughable acting aside (though the “Wrecka Stow” scene is hilarious), it’s the brilliant cinematography, exotic setting (Nice, n’est-ce pas?), and lush, phenomenal score that still makes me want to―just for a moment―run off and be a gigolo on the Riviera.

Let Prince take you on a trip to the Moon:

Please don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @FlyBrother, and “like” me on Facebook! You can subscribe, too! ;-)

This entry was posted in Europe, films, France, inspirations, videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Travel, Inspired by Prince

  1. Adorei o post sobre Yemonjá, muito bem escrito. Parabéns!!!

  2. Playing opposite Prince was Kristen Scott Thomas. Now a major movie actress Ms. Thomas secured her first movie role ever in Under the Cherry Moon.

Please tweet your comments to @FlyBrother, or email them to me (see About page).

